top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram - White Circle
Unknown Track - Unknown Artist
00:00

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

My Wandering Mind

This poem was written by my mother Lisa Florence Stevens in July of '86 then re-edited and finalized by myself in December of 2015. This poem is about the wandering mind of a female teenager falling in love.

How do you hang in,

When all the hope you had is gone?

How can you sleep so tight,

When I wake at the crack of dawn?

When you decide you like someone,

should you let them know?

Would you call him every night,

Or leave it on the low?

How can I make him fall?

How could I make him see...

That if he lusts true happiness,

He needs to be with me.

I'm scared to push into his life,

what if he shows me out?

Someone, please help me,

Tell me what this dating thing is all about!

When will I find this ideal guy,

Who will want me for the rest of my life?

When will this special man,

Decide to make me his loving wife?

How do you speak to a man,

When you don't exist in his world?

How do you even tell him,

That you want to be his girl?

What do you do -

When you want someone so bad?

How can you get someone,

That you have never even had?

You can hear your Mommy's call,

and Daddy's somber Daddy's cry,

"You can't always get what you want!"

But how do you know if you do not try?

How do you prove to him,

You are not a tramp?

How do you dry a weeping heart,

When it is far too damp?

Please, tell me,

So I can share with the man of my dreams,

This might seem ridiculous,

But tell me what dating really means!

bottom of page